A word of encouragement on getting a job!

Hey fellow campers :slight_smile:

Every now and then I return to this forum and browse around. I’ve seen a couple of posts discussing the challenges of getting a job and just thought I’d share my story to help motivate those who might need it.

This post ended up being way longer than I intended, so my apologies for that.

A little over a year ago I was a struggling artist/ student in Chicago. I was a classical double bassist hustling my way to get a job in a symphony orchestra. I went to school full time, had a part time orchestra job, and a part time dog walking job that I would do in between classes, cycling from house to house (about 20 miles a day) for two years including two brutal ass winters. Even though I could live, I was in a really crappy place. I remember a number of times where after I paid all my study and living bills, I would have around $3 left in my bank account, and would have to borrow money from friends to buy groceries, or take my girlfriend out for a meal. On top of that, I was an international student, so half of my income was made under the table, and without studying there was no way I could afford any other visa to stay in the US. I had dropped out of college before because of a similar situation, and for some reason convinced myself that I had to finish up my studies in order to progress in life.

At some point I had a conversation with a high school friend who is a coder. He was doing super well and worked for himself, building apps for clients around the world. He got me thinking, actually, he got me obsessed about the idea to learn how to code.

Enter Freecodecamp