Got a Promotion to Mid-Level Software Engineer!

I had always wondered before I started the freeCodeCamp curriculum whether or not it could be helpful in getting a job promotion. And, I didn’t really find much on the topic. So, I had to ‘just do it’ without really reading any success stories. And, I’m happy to report that doing the curriculum definitely helped me to get a job.

Specifically, it helped me with interview questions and also it gave me additional modern content for my github page, which companies were very eager to view (I was asked once ‘what is a microservice?’ and, while I didn’t know what it was, I was able to say I did a bunch of projects on freeCodeCamp in the APIs and microservices section, so while I don’t know what the term means, I can make them). And, it even gave me a freebie on the ‘What have you been doing to stay current’ question, which I was super excited when I was asked.

I have 1 1/3 years of experience as a Junior Software Engineer. Yet, I found a new Job at mid-level (which as you may know, everybody wants 3-5 years of experience these days), and I even frequently get hit up for mid-level work via indeed/linkedin. My current job even counter-offered much better than this new job because my team lead is aware of my work and recommended me. And, while I can’t definately attribute all of my success to freeCodeCamp, I’m sure that it has been an integral part for every step of my career development (because I posted my completion everywhere).