8 years developer experience. Over 30 interviews with no offer

Hello Everyone,

I’ve seen a lot of posts here asking how to land a job with no degree or experience but I have not seen many with people that have years of experience in the field. I have over 8 years experience in software development with the last 2 consulting for a company I have founded. I’ve done large scale applications for financial institutions and many start ups. In the last 3 weeks I’ve had over 30 interviews. Some have lead to second technical interviews but none have succeeded to an offer.

I’ve had interviews where they asked me to write a component in React and I did it fairly well while explaining my process and even asking questions to keep the conversation going while creating the application. No offer. I’ve had interviews where they asked me shotgun questions one after another and I knew about 99% of the questions. No offer. I’ve had technical barriers where they had me create a full blown chat application in one day. They cherry picked some small thing. No offer. I’ve had interviews where they said my character and personality were great but my technical expertise wasn’t where they wanted it. I’ve also had the complete opposite. I’ve had interviewers ask me one question, I answer them, then they respond I’m too junior for the position abruptly ending the conversation. I’ve had interviewers just straight up leave during the coding interview. These are the better interviews I’ve had.