Accessing Objects Properties with the Dot Operator

I think i might be passing this in the wrong way…make sense? Im not very good with javascript or terminology but I dont think your supposed to “tell” the .prop what it is equal to but its passing…seems in other situations this would be a poor solution.

// Setup
var testObj = {
“hat”: “ballcap”,
“shirt”: “jersey”,
“shoes”: “cleats”
};

// Only change code below this line

var hatValue = testObj.prop1 = “ballcap”; // Change this line
var shirtValue = testObj.prop2 = “jersey”; // Change this line

They are asking you to reference those values. Hat and Shirt are the keys and they want you to return their respective values of ballcap and jersey. There are two ways to do that, dot notation:

var hatValue = testObj.hat; 
var shirtValue = testObj.shirt;

or with bracket notation:

var hatValue = testObj['hat'];
var shirtValue = testObj['shirt']; 

Either will assign those respective values.

appreciate it man i was way off, makes sense way var hatValue = testObj.ballcap; didnt work.

Right, hat is the key, and ballcap is the value. The keys are fixed - every one has a “shirt” but the value tells you what kind of shirt.

It’s kind of funny that your “solution” kind of worked. It was just assigning the value from right to left;

var hatValue = testObj.prop1 = "ballcap";

“ballcap” gets assigned to testObj.prop1. testObj doesn’t have a prop1 so JS creates it. Then that value (still “ballcap”) gets assigned to hatValue.

Funny that it basically ended up doing what it was supposed to do by accident.

@ksjazzguitar please note that bracket notation is used only if there is a space within the propp name/declaration(i learned that the hard way)

Not true, it can be used, space or no space. In fact, for a number brackets must be used as the dot notation does not work with numbers.

For example, it the setup was:

// Setup
var testObj = {
"1": "ballcap",
"2": "jersey",
"3": "cleats"
};

var hatValue = testObj.1;  // does not work