Adding languages to my website

Hello,

For my portfolio I plan on adding the option of viewing everything in my second language. Is the best way to go about this just having something like having a link on my index.html that leads to a secondLanguage.html, which would just be the same page translated? Or is there a better way to do this?

Thank you for your help.

what framework are you using for your project?

I’m still very new to the front end scene. Right now I’m not using any, just building everything from scratch. I haven’t done a lot of work in things like Bootstrap to be super familiar with it. Would it be to my benefit to get familiar with a framework before building a portfolio website?

You can find some good advice on the principles of multilingual websites here and here.

One thing you could do is to pick a reputable site (maybe a government one) that is available in your first and second language and look at their source code.

For example, in Ireland the revenue site is available in both English and Irish

http://www.revenue.ie/en/Home.aspx

http://www.revenue.ie/ga/Home.aspx

Note the /en and /ga subdomains to direct to the two different home pages.

Definitely yes. I would not recommend building portfolio just to have a portfolio. It’s your face as a developer, face of your personal brand. Invest time in contemporary frameworks exploration while sharpening your general dev skills. Carefully choose framework(s) to specialize in. If not sure what to choose, read more reviews with subjective opinions. It’s quite challenging to know everything especially if you want to have life outside of dev career. Jack of all trades is probably not a way to go in context of frameworks and development in general.