Additional Resources To Use Alongside FCC?

Hi!
I recently started the Front End Development course and have just finished the HTML5 and CSS section. I have no prior knowledge of programming but I understand that it’s important to learn more even outside of FCC.
Are there any specific books, videos, additional resources, etc, that are recommended for usage alongside the course? I mean things related to the course, so that they supplement and help with what I’m doing here. There are so many things out there, so it’s a little bit confusing for me.

Thanks in advance!

1 Like

I was about to ask the same thing. It seems like FCC is great for learning front end, but not good for learning back end. For back end, it seems like some other resources or plan of action are needed. I’ve been going through Michael Hartl’s Ruby On Rails book myself.

Hi, I use www.w3schools.com and also www.codecademy.com Both are great in my opinion. I mainly put up the w3 Schools tab next to FCC and reference both back and forth.

Hope this helps! :clown_face:

Thanks! I just checked W3 out and I’m guessing you just open the relevant tutorial to whatever section you’re working on in FCC? Is it the same with Code Academy or do you just do one of their courses (as a normal student) alongside FCC?

I typically only use W3 or MDN for reference. There are a few other curated curriculum’s out there similar to FCC which I try to follow along with.

These two come to mind as good collections to links to a lot of valuable information.

https://www.theodinproject.com/

Are you looking for free resources, or would paid/inexpensive resources be ok too?

Either way, I’d recommend doing this before you jump into FCC’s JavaScript section (it’s free): Practical JavaScript

I don’t mind paid resources if they’re good and inexpensive. I’ll check out the course you’ve linked. Thanks!

I just started the Odin Project today after some research. Hoping the synergy between it and FCC will be good haha
Thanks!

Hi!