Advice on issue at first job

I thought I’d put out my situation to ask for perspective before I try to deal with this problem.

I am a junior dev, self-taught, in my first job. WIthout totally bad-mouthing myself I will admit I am not the best programmer around. However I was still able to get a job. This is saying something.

After a slogging year long job search I finally got this job. Part of the reason I got it I believe was because I was willing to do anything, and this included moving to a small town where I didn’t want to move. Where other programmers would not move. After only 3 months on the job I got hurt at work and so was off on sickness benefits for 2 months. This was not a great way to solidify our early working relationship, work place injury or not.

Over those first first three months while I was working, I was perpetually disappointed with the training, and I felt I was being given useless tasks that didn’t contribute at all to the team. I was also not really learning anything. I brought my dissapointment up twice, very diplomatically I do believe, but nothing changed. I feel that I’ve pushed back as far as I can. But this is all backstory, and not the point of my writing.

This is: after returning to work from my injury I have been moved from programmer to copy editor. I was hired as web developer. My contract says web developer and I moved here to learn web development. I’ve made it clear in the most easy-going way possible that I am not okay with this. And yet I am not now copyediting and will be for the foreseeable future. Maybe not forever, but for minimum of 2-3 months.

I can’t quit because of the difficulty of finding a new job at my level, that being average and new. Taking 3 months off programming at this stage in my career, when I need to be spending 40+ a week to get better, with only the possibility of being reinstated as a developer is a huge stressor for me.