Advice to New Students.How should they start ? What to do and what not to do.Guide for new students at free code camp

This topic is for following purpose :

1. New campers needing advice.
  2. Online study material as well as offline text books they may follow for reference.
  3. Young developers below 20 years who aspire to have a career in CS field and want to start early.
1 Like

Welcome to the forum :slight_smile:

This previous thread may contain plenty to help you get started:

1 Like

Thanks a lot jason. It’s helpful.I appreciate you taking your time out to reply :slight_smile:

Aye! Aye ! Captain. Notes taken…will follow what you listed in step wise step manner and will dedicate time sincerely to complete the tasks mentioned to become better. Thanks a ton :slight_smile:

Hello P1xt,

This was really helpful. I am a beginner as well, wanting to learn how to code. I do not know where to start or how to get motivated to learn. I tend to learn for 15 minutes and say “this is boring and useless.” I want to learn code, but I can’t seem to have the motivation or dedication to learn.

Thanks for putting this together. I really admire how much time you put into these forums and helping your fellow campers out.

Thanks,
Grant.

Maybe try searching for the reason you want to learn code.

Search for answers inside you.

Is this really you wanna do for a long term.

What benefit you can get?

What impact it would have on your life if you achive in getting for which you are learning to code.

And believe me when i say this best motivation is what comes from inside not from outside. You’ve got to find that burning desire inside you which would make your mindset so motivated that even if whole world says you to not to code then as well you say i will code and i will learn it no matter what happens.

Don’t hack your motivation.

Develop it from your core. Base it on your values. Build habits to cultivate it.