All over the place. Help Steering Please

Hi all,

I’ve finally decided in my mid 40s that playing video games is boring. I looked for another hobby for a long long time and finally decided coding might be good. I learned SQL Programming at my job and it’s what I do for a living now. I like it.

Anyway I came to FCC and went through to the first couple of projects, finished the low level algorithms and a couple of the mid level. I sit and stare at the screen. I know I have the capability to process how to solve these algorithms but with little knowledge of the actual functions behind the solution I struggle. I know I need to do the research but have been hesitant. I think I need some see how these functions work first before completing all of them.

So I went to Udemy and I’ve purchases several full stack courses. I really enjoy them and code along on my own development setup but after a while I get bored or frustrated with the pacing. The first one I did was Colt Steele. I actually have his original boot camp and advanced boot camp. I really followed and understood the back end node.js express routing portions. I was coding along. At some point in the web camp project I got bored and looked for something different. Next I picked up Grider’s Node with React Full Stack Dev. In that one the first 8 hours or so go over Google Auth and man that was long and drawn out. I appreciate him explaining everything but at some point let’s get along with it. Just when I thought we were going into React there were some more very long drawn out diagrams of things. I was really really drained after that. Last night I picked up Maximillians React 16.

I’ve also watched hundreds of YouTube videos on the subject. I really like Traversy Media and Max’s channel

I know. I know. I’m all over the place. I’m a bit anxious to learn front to back and I would really love to work on a project to get me there.

Has anyone else had a similar train wreck of a path? Any advice?

Thanks,
cpaz