Am I focusing on the right thing?

Hey all! I’m in a really good headspace right now, but I know I won’t be forever. I’ve got bad depression, and it can really kick my ass sometimes. When I’m sad, sometimes it’s easier to just lie in bed all day and listen to metal while looking out the window wistfully. And then I don’t get any work done.

I’m 24, and I’ve been working in call centers since I graduated college in 2016. Despite having a Bachelor’s Degree in Technical Writing, and a minor in computer science, and even programming mobile apps during a brief internship, I can’t get a single interview for anything that’s not call center work. Ever. I’m pursuing grad school, but things aren’t looking good.

In my spare time, I do game development, and am working in JavaScript. It’s fun, but not quite professional enough to really show off on a portfolio. I also built a website, but just recently took it down to make room for an online portfolio. I’ve been doing the exercises on freeCodeCamp, and they’ve been making me feel amazing. I’ve finished the JavaScript sections on the Basics and ES6, and finished two of the five HTML/CSS projects. I plan on continuing at a steady rate.

I don’t know what to do going forward, though. I can’t do call center work much longer. It’s driving me crazy. I’m figuring the best thing I can do at this time is to finish these FCC projects, put them on my portfolio, and just push for a junior developer job as hard as I can, but I’m worried I might be focusing on the wrong thing…tech writing’s also appealing, but I can’t even get email replies back from the hiring managers. Should I just keep working on these side projects?

Not being able to work/learn due to personal reasons is fine, you don’t always have to get work done. There isn’t some magical bar you must pass to be a developer. (very much an imposture syndrome thing. Also metal :metal: