Am I on the right track?

I started to code this Oct 18 and I have ZERO experience in coding but so far I’ve finished challenges “HTML5 and CSS, Responsive design with bootstrap” I can understand a “little bit” about coding now and hopefully I in the future I can be an expert in coding. Right now I am highly motivated to learn here at FCC and from you guys (fellow campers). I’m not sure if I’m just being paranoid, but I feel really upset when I forget the “code” for certain elements and how to make it work, and whenever I start from scratch again like the challenge before “Responsive design with bootstrap” ended where you will be over with the “CatPhotoApp” and start again for the preparation for the next topic “jQuery” I got really upset because I can’t recall most of the “codes” and what I did is I came back to the challenges I’ve finished and review the code by analyzing and I ending up on feeling upset and the only thing that’s on my mind was “how could I forget that”. So I think my question is, is it normal that I feel this way? and do any of you guys have any advice for a total beginner like me to like memorize the certain “codes” for the elements and do you think it’s normal that I feel this way? Thank you in advance! :smile:

2 Likes

It is the most normal. You will never be able to know every detail of every element you are creating.

The trick is to learn to search for and find out what you need and you will get faster and faster at it. Also, since you did it once before you won’t have to read the entire code you wrote before because you will (most of the time) remember what it does.

5 Likes

@dampish I wouldn’t worry if you forget something. It’s hard to retain and remember any type of knowledge if you are not using it regularly. You can always do a Google search to look things up. I use these links to help refresh my remember.

w3schools.com
http://www.w3schools.com/

jQuery Quick API Reference

3 Likes

Welcome!