American Millenial Expat: I need a job in 12 weeks

American Millenial Expat: I need a job in 12 weeks

Week #0

A bit of background about me. I’m from the US, but I live abroad in China teaching English. I came to China because, after graduating with a Liberal Arts degree, I found the opportunities for me in the US were unsatisfactory. I only teach 10-15 hours/week, so I have a lot of free time.

I started studying JavaScript in the Fall of 2017 because I was using a game-making software written in JavaScript. However, I had no real commitment to learn so my attempts at completing Codecademy’s Intro to JS (or a game, for that matter) went unfinished. I started, stopped, and restarted several times.

In the Spring of 2018, I was planning on coming back to the US at the end of semester. At this point I spent most of my time binge-playing computer games and staying up late doing so. I had tried to start learning JavaScript again, but video games always seemed more tempting. Finally, contemplating my life and what I was doing with it, I deleted all the games off my hard-drive and blazed through Codecademy’s Intro to JavaScript.

That’s when I started FreeCodeCamp’s front-end certificate on the old curriculum. I was on a tear at this point. The only time I wasn’t thinking about coding was literally while in class. That front-end certificate took about 6 weeks. And that’s about the time when I made a difficult decision to stay in China one more year since I got a job offer from a university to teach their General English course.

In the last year I have used a variety of resources. I learned PHP/SQL at one point in order to become a back-end developer. I only used that for 1 project and then learned React from Codecademy. Once I learned React, I made several projects with it before finally coming back to FreeCodeCamp in February and learning SASS followed by the MERN stack.