Another "I got a job" post!

I never thought I’d be writing this, but I recently acceped a job as a Software Engineer. I just wanted to share my story like all the others I’ve eagerly read here.

Starting off

I started messing around with programming not really thinking I would ever do it professionally. I did Codeacdemy’s HTML and Javascript courses, and boy was it long, tedius work. I eventually enrolled in CS50 and that was a totally different experience. Instead of checking the clock to see how long I had been coding for, time just blended away as I tried to figure out the next step in making my projects. I was an elemetary school teacher at the time, and working through CS50 made me want to switch from more general classroom subjects to teaching technology full time.

I found a job I loved where I got to introduce kids to code through Scratch, HTML & CSS, Arduino, and more. It was great, but as I got more into the technology, I realized I wanted to pursue that more thoroughly and switching from teaching to programming began to appeal to me. I checked out some boot camps, but in addition to the cost, I didn’t want to wait for the school year to end to learn more web development and then also have to uproot my life in order to attend one. I eventually found Free Code Camp and figured I would give it a try.

Free Code Camp

When I started FreeCodeCamp it was in the old format with three sections: Front End, React/Data Viz, and Backend. I loved the project approach, and it reminded me of working through the projects in CS50. There was a great feeling of accomplishment whenever I completed one, especially finally finishing up the Front End section with my Simon game.