Another newb looking for advice

Ahoy FCC. Taking the advice to get involved and posting.

Looking for suggestions and direction towards the goal of establishing a new career, without degrees (just like everyone else, I know).

I’m in my 30’s but have at least a passing familiarity with the basics… I just have’t done anything beyond hobbyist status (basic HTML), and nothing at all code related for many years. I’m expecting I count as an absolute beginner. Hopefully my other life experiences end up helping in the end. I’m starting at the beginning here. But I pick things up quickly, am detail oriented, and self motivated (I’ve been self employed for years), and have some familiarity with graphic design.

I’ve looked over some (of the many) similar posts. I understand there’s no one path, and no guarantee anywhere along the line. The goal is to find gainful work by next summer. I’m located in Phoenix AZ, but have an eventual preference for freelance and remote work (as I’d like to be able to travel and take work with me, I also intend to relocate to rural New Hampshire in the long term). I’m not expecting instant results, and I don’t have full-time levels of free time to dedicate (though my work allows me flexibility). 1-4 hours a day is probably realistic.

A friend has been suggesting for awhile to get into doing wordpress sites. This sounds like it may dovetail with my desires well, but I’m not tied to the idea. If nothing else, it’s likely a good starting point. I’m guessing the competition for the sort of job I’d most like is not insignificant., so i don’t want to be overly specific. It seems like there’s a huge amount of people doing the same thing I am, and very little way to stand out. A local criagslist search shows a lot of freelancers offering services, and very few options for entry jobs in the field.

My intent is to build a site for my own business, as both practice and portfolio. Two birds, as they say. I can be my own first client.