Apprenticeships & Self taught programming

I hope this is topic is appropriately placed, I am seeking advice regarding being a self-taught programmer and finding a job (apprenticeship in my case). I apologise for the long post but I would very much appreciate some opinions on my situation and answers to my enquiry after explaining myself to a good extent, even if I do stray off target I just want to give as much detail as I can in hopes of receiving the best advice for my situation.