Are you interested in having a mentor and work in a team of peers?

Hi there!

I’m thinking of starting a free of charge mentorship program for people new to JS. I’m planning to form a group of 5 people with whom we can go through the freeCodeCamp JS curriculum from the beginning.

Important! Mentorship doesn’t mean that I will solve the curriculum challenges for you, but I will help you when you stuck or need a piece of advice. Also, you will have to communicate in a team with other participants. It will help you to practice your communication skills because it is one of the most crucial soft skills you have to master.

Who I am.

I’m a self-taught web developer. I work for one of the European leaders in the public cloud in the design department. I mostly do frontend with JS/Typescript and React ecosystem because of my design background(UI/UX), but I also have expertise in backend technologies like Node, GraphQL, and Serverless.

Why freeCodeCamp?

I started my studies at the end of 2015 here, on freeCodeCamp. I will always be grateful that freeCodeCamp and its community helped me to become a developer.

Why mentorship?

I have no doubts that you can learn independently and become a developer. But sometimes you have questions and thoughts that you don’t want to share with the community, for example, because of your personality. And in the end, you will end up with a lot of gaps in your knowledge. I went through this path and it took a lot of time and effort to manage it. So my goal here is to help people to transition into developers more smoothly and be a better developer.

Is it a one-time thing with only one group?

Well, it will be a pilot group, so I don’t know yet. If there will be a lot of interest from different people and backgrounds - we can organize more groups, but we will need volunteers to mentor them.

How to participate?