Ask a tech recruiter

I’m a recruiter for technology startups with clients all over the world. If anyone has questions about their job search, I’d be happy to help.

I am taking the FCC program and I have a strong tech background, but I was missing the day-to-day hands on coding piece. I’m a skilled product manager working on UI, wireframes, user flows and user stories, and writing out features/requirements specs. I have a strong understanding of what’s going on under the hood and always interfaced well with development teams. I’ve decided to take the FCC program to completion so that I can increase my skillset to be more of a full stack developer and be able to do end-to-end production of a product.

I’d like to contribute back to the FCC community by helping answer questions (privately) about your job search. Please reach out to me here via msg or you can check my profile and see my contact info. No phone calls please, unless we schedule one ahead of time.

–Steve

9 Likes

Hi Steve,
Thanks so much for your kind generosity and willingness to assist others.
You’re a good egg.
My name’s David and I am brand new to Code Camp and programming ( less than a week ).
From what I’ve read, it seems to me that the key to getting a job (short term as freelancer, or long term) is to provide your potential employer with several substantial examples of actual real life projects you’ve completed as an example of the code you can write.
Does this sound accurate to you? In your opinion, will this compensate for my lack of formal education in the programming field?
I was considering borrowing $13,000 to attend an immersive Boot Camp (and the decision has to be made in the next week to meet the cut off time in case I decide to attend), but I’m now thinking I’ll be better off teaching myself using this resource and books and then contribute/complete 5 or 6 open source projects available on github and then go to an employer with that as my resume.