Asp.net vs Node.js

Hello everybody,

I have one question. I finished secondary school and I will take gap year before study. I want quality to spend this time.

I have some experience in C# and it’s time to move on next step to learn asp.net, and then xamarin for mobile development. Also, I have experience in JavaScript and frameworks like jQuery, Angular, React(starting to learn in few weeks). My question is what is better to learn in the next few months and completely spend time on it, c# technologies or maybe node.js.
I like both, but can’t decide which one. Which one will be more popular in future and which area has better career.
Thank you.

It may seem a bit biased but freeCodeCamp teaches you javascript, javascript is popular in the open source community, while Microsoft’s asp.net is proprietary technology. I would recommend Node.js as it makes you more prepared to participate to open source, of course you could learn Asp.net if you’d rather learn it or even learn both. By the way freeCodeCamp teaches you node.js in the backend development courses. Good luck with whatever you choose to learn :slight_smile:

You could work on freecodecamp projects since you know JavaScript - they have some node exercises and projects too - you’ll work with databases and server side tools for full stack experience

From what I saw in the map, they teach you how to use node.js, express.js, how to use Git, do automated testing and debugging, and even how to use MongoDB. It really helps prepare you for backend development stuff and has lots of projects to along with it :slight_smile:

My cop-out answer… Learn both :slight_smile:

Re: ASP.NEt is propietary technology.

Nope. It’s open source.

and a bunch of other projects.

Maybe you were thinking of .NET Framework 2.0, 4.x.x, which are yes… requires Visual Studio to work on.
But ASP.NET and the current Core 1.x and upcoming Core 2.x are open source and cross-platform.