Asynchronous computerTurn/PlayerTurn in TicTacToe

I am working on the below (simplified here) and my thinking is to have the computer and player alternate turns, checking for a winner after each turn.

My problem is that the game doesn’t wait for the player turn, it just loops through the computer’s turns and the computer immediately wins. I think this is to do with asynchronous nature of JS but don’t know what to do about it. Can anyone give me some guidance please? Am I approaching this in completely the wrong way?.. I am a noob so expect this is likely!

Thanks,

Tim.

function computerTurn() {
}

function playerTurn() {
    // wait for a click in an empty square
}

function checkWinner() {
}

$('document').ready(function() {
    $('#launch').click(function() {

while (!winner) {
            computerTurn();
            checkWinner()
            playerTurn();
            checkWinner();
        }
    }
    // declare winner here
}

Try triggering the whole playerTurn -> checkWinner -> computerTurn business when you click a square on the board, instead of a while-loop.

Thanks Kev! That’s much better. Still a lot of spaghetti code, and much to refactor, but at least it’s functional for now.

I beat the computer with zero artificial intelligence. I’m proud :slight_smile:

This reminds me of a game I made back in university :slight_smile: the first question I would ask is why you are focusing on a functional style? Might be jumping ahead of the curriculum here but I think you could improve the code quality massively by making it more object orientated.

Having a tile object rather than lots of arrays I think would be a great win. It should make it easier to understand and make it much more maintainable.

A tile object would be a great simple one to start with:
Class tile {
constructor() {
this.symbol = null;
}

function ClaimForPlayer() {
this.symbol = playerSymbol;
}

function IsAvailable()
{
return this.symbol === null;
}
}