At what stage did you land your first gig?

Hey all, just joined the community and hoping to make use of its JavaScript tutorials. I’m curious to hear people’s coding journeys and what at point they transitioned from being self-taught to landing a dev job? I see a lot of posts from people asking for advice, but it would great to hear some success/fail testimonies as well.

Here’s where I’m coming from and where I’m at:

I started from scratch with coding using The Odin Project while also enrolling in DataQuest (both of these back in August).

So far I’ve picked up HTML, CSS, Ruby, RoR, Python, and SQL (skipped the JavaScript curriculum which in retrospect was a big mistake) and have a few basic projects in my portfolio.

I’ve started applying for jobs on Indeed, ZipRecruiter, AngelJobs, and StackOverflow a few weeks ago, and I’m realizing that barely anyone is looking for Ruby anymore. Python only seems to be use for those with Django proficiency. JavaScript related frameworks seems to be all the rage for Full Stack Developer job descriptions.

Out of 20 applications (which I know is hardly many compared to some of you on here), so far I’ve had one recruiter try to pivot me into a non-programming job, and then I’ve gotten a programming challenge screening thing (algorithm encoding which really I have never been taught on), so I feel discouraged about my current aptitude and capacity to score an entry-level gig. I think I may just go through FCC’s JavaScript curriculum to build a better portfolio.

What do you all think? Have you had experiences learning technologies that the job market isn’t interested in? At what point did you start getting paid to code? Would love to hear stories as I try to figure out my own path moving forward.

I started freeCodeCamp in early 2016, and got hired as a JS dev at the tail end of 2017. Still in the same job now, and it’s easily the best thing I’ve done in my professional life.