Backend: How to associate each Firebase user with their own data

Hi all,

I’m new to backend dev and want to learn how to associate each user in the DB with their own set of data (currently each user can see the data globally). I feel as though I am 90% there [ GITHUB REPO ], as the data is posting to the DB with the User ID and nested data (see screenshot). There are some issues with logging in and out, mainly cause I know it’s not setup 100% correct,

However I currently get an error in the console saying
"permission_denied at /campaigns: Client doesn't have permission to access the desired data."

I have set permissions in my Firebase console like this (following along from some Stack Overflow posts):

{
  "rules": {
    "campaigns": {
      "$userId": {
            ".read": "$userId === auth.uid",
            ".write": "$userId === auth.uid"   
      }
    }
  }
}

And the posted data looks like this:

I have a setDataToTable method like this:

addDataToTable () {
        this.updateCampaignData('camp/updateLoadingState', true)
        // TODO: Set specific data for each user
        const USER_KEY = this.$store.getters['auth/getUserId']
        db.ref().child('campaigns').child(USER_KEY).set({
          campaign_name: this.campaignName,
          campaign_created: new Date().toLocaleDateString(),
          campaign_link: this.returnGeneratedUrl,
          copy: 'COPY LINK'
        })
        this.resetForm()
        this.dialog = false
        this.$store.dispatch('camp/updateDataTable')
        this.updateCampaignData('camp/updateLoadingState', false)
        console.log('data pushed to db successfully')
      }
    },

Thank you in advance and if you need any more information, please just let me know :slight_smile:

1 Like