Be Patient with your coding journey!

Hey everyone, long time viewer first time poster here :wave:t2:

I just want to share my experience becoming a Software Developer and hope it provides some encouragement for those of you trying to break into the field.

I’ve been a Software Developer for about 5 years now. I am not the best developer, I make mistakes, and I get stuck on a LOT problems. But that’s okay. Software Developers are not robots who write perfect code 100% of the time and accepting that you can be perfect has made me a better developer and mentor to junior developers.

I started my coding journey by leaving my job of 3 years working in a Semiconductor manufacturing facility. I hated my job and was miserable. Long hours without really learning anything new finally caught up to me. At that time, there weren’t many resources online so I relied heavily on youtube to learn how to code. As great as it was learning how to code online, I knew the current resources I had in front of me was not good enough. I decided to quit my job and attend a coding bootcamp. (Flatiron School 2015)

I understand a coding bootcamp is not for everyone, but for me I wanted to accelerate my timeline of becoming a Software Developer. The school was not easy by ANY means and it was not a GOLDEN TICKET that I can magically become a Junior Software Dev. I had to work really hard, be consistent, and keep grinding early mornings and late nights. There were many days I wanted to quit, I didn’t understand EVERYTHING, and psyched myself out wondering if anyone would really hire me.