Becoming a self-taught back-end developer : Possible?

Hi guys . If i have no formal degree and teach myself a back end language such as C# , Java or Php , etc , can i get a job at a company ?

1 Like

Yes!! you can get a job.

I’ve actually heard the story of so many, who got jobs without any formal degree in computer science.
You can watch this interview https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXro5iqc_u4

1 Like

@iamprinx thank you .

1 Like

I was attending college for programming back in the day (late 1980s, to be specific), and dropped out. The curriculum was out-of-date then. Mainframe languages from the '60s and '70s.

What did I do after that? Got a degree from clown college. Yup.

But I found that I truly enjoyed coding, just not on punch cards. So I found a job at a graphic design house, then rolled into maintaining the hybrid network, then got a different job as tech support for graphic design houses with hybrid networks, then got to write an early app for those hybrid networks (server-side was perl then PHP, client side was AppleScript then browser-based).

In pursuit of all that, I taught myself graphic design software, Windows NT Server, SQL Server, and then perl, PHP, AppleScript, early Javascript and HTML.

Fortunately, the story didn’t end there, as the web development world has moved along nicely. But I taught myself nearly two dozen languages, for both hobby and professional use. I still use maybe eight of them (let’s face it, LOLCODE will never be a serious language).

So yes. Absolutely. In many ways, the self-taught developer will have some advantages, in my opinion.

2 Likes