Beginner Programmer Questions

Beginner Programmer Questions

Hey guys, I am new to freeCodeCamp and got the first 2 challenges completed. I would like to get your opinion on a couple things.

I opted out of a $10K Code bootcamp for freeCodeCamp and plan on completing the front end development certificate.

1. After completing the Front end certificate, do you then just pick a language to become an expert in? Or how do you transition from this course to picking a language or two to focus on?

2. On a scale from 1-Hireable where does one sit after completing the front end development certificate? Sorry, Im sure this has been asked multiple times.

3. For all you full-time programmers, how open would you be to mentoring a new programmer in your free time? I am more curious as I think it would be good idea for me to find someone skilled in my city that would be willing to lead me in the right direction.

Any help or insight is appreciated. Thank you guys.

:ok_hand:JB

1. The expectation is that after the front end certificate you continue with the back end section. FCC is a full stack web development curriculum.

2. The front end certificate is not meant to be a stopping point. While there is work that you can do with only that level of knowledge, I wouldn’t consider someone “career ready” at that point.

3. I and several other full-time programmers are here on the forums daily to help mentor students. Feel free to ask any questions that come up. I do suggest connecting with other people in your area. If you’re lucky, there might be a strong FCC group in your city. There might be a number of other interest groups in your area as well.

I highly recommend checking out P1xt’s guides for further guidance.

Thanks Ariel! Appreciate the insight.

To add my own two cents to Ariel’s excellent answer: