Best Text Editor

Fellow Campers:

I’m still very new to coding, however, I know the best way to learn is by doing. I’m itching to get my hands dirty so to speak, but I’m not sure what text editor is best, or what I need to do to “sandbox” my website experiments.

Suggestions on your favorite text editor and how to sandbox my website experiments are very appreciated!

Happy coding y’all!

This subject keeps popping up.
All your answers can be found in this forum’s search bar.
I’ve created an easy link for you here

For a text editor I like Atom myself.
For sandboxing, Plunkr is pretty popular but I like repl.it

1 Like

If you’re on linux, I would seriously recommend at least getting the hang of Vim. It is a powerful editor, very extensible and available on almost any linux distro, even in the absence of a DE. The keybindings can really speed you up once you get the hang of them. Being able to quickly replace, delete, reformat etc is great. Some IDEs also offer Vim keybindings out of the box - I’m using intellij IDEA at the moment and loving it :slight_smile:

I appreciate the responses! I’ve downloaded Atom and will pay around with it once I get back home from traveling. Excited to get started with this!

Atom is good. I prefer Visual Studio Code over pretty much anything for its features and speed (its free as well). A lot of people like sublime or webstorm (neither are free). Just pick a free one if you are starting out and use it. You will waste more time in a bike-shedding argument like this than you would save using one editor over another.

P.S., Notepad++ is super simple and great for editing plain text like JSON and config files very quickly (it doesn’t work that great for programming). You will also most likely want to learn Vim sometime in the future so you can do command-line editing. Vim works on windows too.

1 Like

Most are FREE, download and try them all out.

I think over time, you’ll start to gravitate towards one or two or three.