Burned out or lazy? Can't start my portfolio

Hey all, thanks for clicking.

I’m a web designer with about 5 years of experience. I quit my designing job last year because I was planning on moving to NYC earlier this year (currently living abroad) but my schedule got delayed to August this year. I’ve been working part-time job (non-IT related) at night since last October and been studying coding at home during the day to up-level my career.

I hope to leave designing and become a full-time front-end developer one day. (I’m not very confident about my designs and can’t see myself doing it forever) For now, I’ll apply for designing jobs with coding skills preferred/required.

Problem is… my first few months were strong and focused. I spent my days studying on FCC, Tree House, YouTube, etc… Even when I had a hard time self-learning JavaScript, I signed up for a weekend class (they didn’t have any available classes during the week) and I’ve been going to that class every weekend since a month and a half ago.

Now… I need to start building my portfolio website in order to apply for jobs later this year but it’s been really hard just STARTING it. I’m studying, doing the small challenges, making small things on CodePen, etc… but I’ve been finding ways to prevent myself from starting a portfolio website. It’s getting really frustrating.

Does anyone else have this problem?
Burned out… lazy… whatever it is, I really want to overcome it. sigh.

1 Like

@aeyeni same problem here. I’m doing everyday small projects mostly JS and I’m able to find my way, but when it comes to my portfolio suddenly I’m standing in front of the wall. I don’t think it’s laziness, I think is more of being scared to make that first step into the unknown, to be able to show that I really want to be a web developer. As crazy as it sounds the portfolio makes this real for me and I’m afraid of the failure. I know it’s silly but for me, this is a real struggle.

2 Likes