Can anyone help ? Advice please

I am new to this and looking for a career change, I have always wanted to get into computer science, programming, development, etc. however as I continue my studies I see now that programs are developing which do away with coding, drag and drop web building etc, am I wasting my time or going down the right road to continue my learning of coding?

3 Likes

I want you to explore this website - https://www.nocsdegree.com/

3 Likes

Certainly you’re not wasting your time.

I come from the world of WordPress and the Drag and Drop themes that promise non-coders build websites and start a business.

A full stack web developer earns a six figure. A wordpress, not programming in PHP, earns a lot less than that.

But once you start coding, learning HTML, CSS, and JavaScript, and start building something, you’ll see how glorifying it can be.

3 Likes

Thank you for the support as I have been intensely “bootcamping” coding for the last 2 months since the lockdown began, trying to prepare for the future as I am not a young person and starting a new career at my age is a bit scary, thank you again, I will “stay the course” :+1:

2 Likes

Thank you I will! And thank you for taking the time to review the post!

1 Like

Age doesn’t matter. I’m 36 and will start applying within two years when I have built my most two desired projects.

I have a BS in English; I’m a teacher, and doing a masters in Innovation in Education; but Computer Science has always been what I wanted.

It’s never too late; and with the demand for remote web developers, even better. I get to be with my wife and kids, and earn good money, while I do the transition from my teaching position to fully dev.

5 Likes

hello!
You are n’t wasting your time, you’re doing such a good job if you continue studying coding in the this course.

3 Likes

Thank you for your encouragement it helps to hear that I am on the right pathđź‘Ś

1 Like

James2769
you’re welcome.