Can I has job now? (A love story.)

Hey there campers. Shane here. I began at Free Code Camp in December (2015). I have since gone on to win many awards, such as the least known developer of 2016, a gold medal for having the most incomplete projects in the history of projects, and I was even nominated by my wife for the hardest working developer prize, but it does not exist, unfortunately. (This is all a lie. I have no awards!)

I set out to ask a question here about an hour ago, but it dragged out so long that I took the question to Medium. Please do check it out and let me know what you think.

If you’re not looking to read a blog post, although it is one of my shorter ones, here is the gist:

I have been developing for 6 months I have a broad skill set and only lack one or two of the most in demand skills for front end developers. When do I know I am ready to apply and not get laughed at? When am I good enough to take present myself to the guys who write the pay checks?

And, for you guys and gals who have landed jobs, here is a question that you may not feel comfortable answering, but I implore you to for the sake of my own confidence, haha. – Assessing my GitHub, my code, my skill set, and what I have done thus far, in comparison to where you were when you landed your job, do you think I am there yet?

Thank you all for the read, even if you only skim. :wink:

3 Likes

I’ve read both posts :slight_smile: You and I are seemingly alike, because I feel from what I’ve read, a lot of self-doubt. “When will I be job ready?” or “I’m pretty sure i’m close to these job criterias, but I might miss something…”.

Thoses things slows you down, a lot. I have completed frontend FCC in december 2015, and still haven’t applied anywhere. (Okay, I’ve already got a stable job but…) The thing is, you need to feel ready to jump in.