Career Ceiling?

Hi Everyone,

I started fcc very recently hoping to transition into software development from a completely different field. From my research, it seems reasonable that with enough time and grit, landing a junior developer position is quite possible.

However, for those of you who have managed to pull off this amazing feat, what are the career prospects moving forward? Presuming one continues to upgrade his/her skills and knowledge, can one indefinitely advance in the ranks? Is there a certain point or ceiling at which employers (even if just as a formality) will start asking for evidence of a CS degree?

Thanks in advance for the insight!

I made my living coding for almost 15 years, starting as a self-taught junior developer and eventually earning six and (briefly, results probably not typical) seven figures with what I’d learned mostly through experience. Advancement in this field is almost entirely driven by various capabilities. And I have to say, that by today’s standards I was a mediocre programmer at best. The only ceiling I ever really hit was my own fatigue.

In my experience only certain types of employers, notably governments and government contractors, ever get tied up in knots over whether you have a degree ‘in the field’. I’ve also been the position of hiring programmers and, personally when it comes to spending my own money, I am always more concerned with what a person can do than how exactly they learned to do it.

Mine is just one point of view, from experience, I’m very interested to hear what others have encountered.

1 Like

@tdreid

So are you saying that a degree is “nice to have, but not really necessary,” or more like “eh, don’t bother?”

@P1xt, what do you think?