Career Change - Advice

Hey Everyone!

I’m glad I found this website. Been going doing all of the exercises. Here is my dilemma and very nervous about it. I’ve been working in Operations Management for 12 years and I’m at a 6 figure salary. I hate the career and the health is start to go down a bit. I wake up every day and just hit my head against the fridge. (This is real!)

I come home at night completely exhausted and when I try to code I don’t get the results I want because I’m so exhausted. I have a masters degree in Math education but in coding I’ve learned that means nothing. I know everyone is trying to be a coder at this point and I’m really considering leaving my industry and studying for 6 months, moving back in with the parents to save money and go down this route because it’s addicting and I love it.

I get nervous because I go online and see these stories that you need a CS degree or no one will take a chance on you compared to college kids. In my case, I’m 35 years old and I feel because I’m mid career, I’ll get looked over for jobs.

Any advice would be great. I know one big thing from my masters degree that I can give everyone here advice would be make sure you know BIG O Notation. It’s one of the first questions my Engineering managers ask as well as basic data structures and Algorithms.

Thanks in Advance!

Mike

I would recommend looking into a Coding Bootcamp from Europe called Code Institute. They have an affordable 14 month payment plan at about $450/ month and it’s accredited when on completion of the program you receive a Diploma of Software Development. The program is an Online FullStack Python course that is go at your own pace with mentorship. I’ve done considerable research on them and think they are very solid.

With your fund’s I’d recommend a Bootcamp over self learning because you will be pushed harder in a Bootcamp and make quicker gains; not to mention the Diploma of Software Development is great for getting past the HR firewall.