Change URL based on input

Hi

I’ve made a calculation (in danish), where the user can see how much they save by moving their insurances to a new company.

Link to solution: https://codepen.io/madsenfc/pen/ePJGzR

However, I need to look into how I can sent the user to the webshop with the products they’ve clicked on. So if the user clicks on “Car” (in danish “Bil”) and “Family” (in danish “Indbo”), the URL in the CTA should change from the static link in the CTA to https://www.if.dk/privat/webshop?ifdkws_new=familie,bil . So the parameters after ? should be depend on what the user have clicked. Each product has a name that can be assigned in ifdkws_new.

I’m pretty new to JavaScript, so I’m still learning. However, I need som guideance in what to do, as I find it e bit confusing where to start.

BR Martin

You can achieve this result in many ways.

My proposal is storing all the texts of the clicked items in array, then pass this array to the href attribute. Here is example how you can do this:

Implement this code inside $(‘.toggle’).on() function:

var defaultLink = ‘/privat/forsikringer’
var webshopLink = ‘/privat/webshop?ifdkws_new=’

var text = $(this).text().slice(0, -1)

var position = arr.indexOf(text)
if (position == -1) arr.push(text)
else arr.splice(position, 1)

if (arr.length == 0) {
  $('.ecmt-button').attr('href', defaultLink);
} else {
  $('.ecmt-button').attr('href', webshopLink + arr.join());
}

and this outside it (may be just line before)

var arr =

text is storring current button text - slice(0, -1) is removing last character (‘+’ in this case)
position determines if text is already in arr (if is it returns index else -1)
arr.splice(position, 1) removes item at index position
arr.join() returns string separated by comma

EDIT:
using ternary operator you can make the code even cleaner:

var text = $(this).text().slice(0, -1)
var defaultLink = "/privat/forsikringer"
var webshopLink = "/privat/webshop?ifdkws_new="
var position = arr.indexOf(text)