Code Review Partner? App feedback?

Hey guys,

I made this SpeedDrill app over the last few days with React / Redux / Bootstrap

link: https://raddog25.github.io/SpeedDrill/
Github repo: https://github.com/RadDog25/SpeedDrill

What do you guys think?

I’m wondering if someone somewhere near my level would be into looking through my repo and I could look through one of your current projects in return.

As an aside I really recommend using Redux for anyone getting into React. It really allowed me to clean up my code and work fast once I figured it out.

First off… Kudos my friend! This is a super fun little app and represents some great work.

I’ve been coding for 20+ years and I’m not looking for anything in return, but I thought I would chime in with some constructive feedback. I just took a quick look and these are off the top of my head, so they’ll kind of jump around all over the place. Hope that’s okay with you.

• Avoid using let unless you explicitly intend to assign a new value to a given variable later on. Use const instead.
    • Specifically, using let to define functions should be avoided. let sends a signal that it’s okay to assign a new value to a variable and you probably never want someone overwriting a function in your app. Use const
  • jQuery is unnecessary. It’s a big library and you’re doing very little with it. React is already taking care of most of the DOM manipulation behind the scenes. Just use document.querySelector or document.getElementById when you need to grab a DOM element.
    • Generally, the fewer third-party dependencies an App has, the better.
  • Prefer one default export per module. This is what TC39 had in mind when they created the module system for ES2015

ECMAScript 6 favors the single/default export style and gives the sweetest syntax to importing the default. Importing named exports can and even should be slightly less concise.

• Move business logic out of your reducers and into their own modules.