Coding with a Chromebook

I am a total noob(I don’t know a dam thing) when it comes to programming but I would really like to learn. I have a chromebook and have been reading that it can be somewhat of a headache to learn on. Should I invest in a PC? Thanks.

1 Like

Absolutely!

It is possible but it’s going hinder you and greatly reduce your options often. You can often find a good used/refurbished windows laptop for less than many chromebooks.

ThanKs texxs. Thats what I was thinking after reading around.

You can keep ChromeOS, especially because you’re already familiar with it. For the beginning where you start learning it should be fine.

But when you need some advanced software, you can read this post https://stackoverflow.com/a/45211120/8605830

You’re fine. You may have to get a little inventive, but there are cloud based solutions for any software that you can’t install locally. Honestly, the size of the screen would be the part that bugs me the most.

Edit As of ChromeOS verison 69, you can install a beta version of a Linux shell on select Chromebooks. This is now the easiest, most supported, and most stable way to start coding locally on a chromebook. So if your shopping for a Chromebook, definitely look ahead to make sure it can or will support this feature. (Most newer Chromebooks should support this feature)

The way this works (as I currently understand it :wink:) is once you turn on this feature ChromeOS will run a VM that manages a Debian container. The Terminal app that is added to your Chromebook apps drops you in an instance of this container. Because this container is Debian, (what Ubuntu is based off of) you can install basically any package as you would on a Debian or Ubuntu Linux distro.