Complementary resources for FreeCodeCampers?

Hi all,

I just started FreeCodeCamp and I am a total beginner. So far I have done the HTML5/CSS challenges and just started on the Bootstrap ones.

Do you know any resources that you have been using to complement what you have been learning through FreeCodeCamp? It feels like I am going through the challenges quickly (so far!) without getting the time to truly understand what i’m doing…

Any resources with definitions, extra challenges/projects, basics would be truly helpful in my opinion.

My apologies if there are already other similar topics!

Thanks you in advance for the help and long live FreeCodeCamp!

1 Like

Just because you “passed” the HTML and CSS challenges doesn’t mean you already know all that is to know about HTML/CSS. It is just a very small portion of the whole HTML and CSS realm. Think of FCC challenges as appetizers.

Some useful references

4 Likes

Thanks Owel!

I totally agree with you. Doing a few hours of CSS doesn’t make me an expert in the field and that is why I am asking for complementary ressources.

Regards,
B

Yeah, I would check out some of these websites for more information: Udacity, Coursera, Udemy, SoloLearn.

Specifically, Udacity has some good courses on Linux command line, version control with Git, and some HTML courses.

You may also consider setting up a GitHub in your spare time if you get bored of challenges. Some more veteran users will probably chime in soon with more answers.

(Spoiler I am not a developer, just at the intermediate Front-End challenges and algos). I set up my own website: https://jwolfgang.info. Setting up the website definitely taught me a lot about web development! And since I used WordPress it was not that difficult. Most literature I’ve read recommends at least one “side-hustle” or two, my website is mine.