Computer scientist stuck at a non coding job not sure what to do

Computer scientist stuck at a non coding job not sure what to do

It’s been two years since I graduated school. Since then I switched roles 3 times but always ended up with jobs that were not coding related. I do a lot of leetcode but I want to do a project now basically something I can show off. But I am unable to pick what should I do front end, backend, apis. Should I learn a new language first or do a project in language I already know. Basically I feel superlost. Sorry, for really broad question and bad english(non native speaker)
TL;DR I am looking for a project that is cool, fun and helpful to make but also is not too daunting
Thanks for help

0 Likes

Why don’t you start by doing all the projects on freecodecamp first?

I am sure inspiration for more sophisticated project will pop pup on this journey.

0 Likes

I’m in much the same boat, @js5395, many many skills front- to back-end, and crossing the divide from “having skills” to “monetizing said skills” is a difficult gap to hurdle.

If you have the skills you claim, the first thing I strongly suggest is get involved in projects. Set up gits, or join open-source projects and push updates on other people’s gits. Getting involved not only shows you have the skills to code, but to work on a team.

Having the skills isn’t really enough, you also need the world to KNOW you have them. Get involved in another way – answer questions. There are five different “Help, I’m coding and I can’t get unstuck!” boards I frequent. The big three I advise you look at are:

1. FCC forums (here – these folks are dynamic and active. Somehow, I’m starting to get a reputation as “not a complete idiot” here).
  2. stackOverflow – there are a number of focus groups you can choose to get involved with, by filtering by “tags”. I tend to frequent the “javascript”, “jquery” and “php” tags. Not sure why, it’s where I’ve landed.