Considering a career shift - share your personal advice please :)

Hi! I am new to the FCC Community, although I’ve known about FCC for a long time.

I’ve been living in a beautiful city in Montana for the past 15 years and not planning on moving for a long time, maybe 20+ years. I really like living here and all of the available outdoor activities. The downside is we don’t have a lot of opportunities here. It’s getting a little bit better and we have a few more companies/startups to work for but still not a whole lot.

I graduated with a BA in Digital Media Design and worked through college as a web designer (html/css). When I graduated, I ended up working for a university here as a web designer for a year or so. Then I had a better opportunity to work for a larger corporation, making more money in town. My role started as a web designer then moving up to a Design Manager, overseeing all things design whether UI, web, portal or graphics. I was there for almost 6 years.

I left the place to work for an tech startup where I am doing Product Management. It’s pretty intense and I am learning a lot but I do miss the “creating/building piece”. I’ve actually been freelancing on the side working on WP sites to not lose the technical skills so much. I’ve been working with this tech company for a little over a year. Then got promoted actually to head up Product Management. I’ve been thinking about my career path for the past couple of months and reassessing if I am on the right track. I feel like in my 20s, it’s all about making more money, climbing the ladder… Fast forward a years later, I don’t want to climb any ladder at all. The more I move up, the more I am closer to bureaucracy and drama. And maybe startups are known for drama. Money is always great but I’m ok with taking a pay cut too. I just want to get shit done and be happy with what I’m doing. :slight_smile: