Cookies Practice

Cookies Practice

General question here; I’m working on a side project where I will be tracking student performance as it is related to a few different variables (e.g. instructor, time of day, time of week, subject, etc.). Before the question comes up, there are no names of students or any identifiable information being used here and it is, at the moment, just a side project for my benefit and curiosity. Ultimately, I want to see where and when the good and bad behaviours are occurring.

To make the data entry bearable, I have two years of observed behaviours to comb through, I need a variable that’ll permanently store the information for me so that I can access and add to it at a later date. If that information is stored only on one machine that that’s okay.

**Being a novice here, I have two questions: **

1. Is a cookie a viable option for this?
2. If so, have you kind and beautiful folks got any suggested sites where I can practice using them? Something like codecademy would be cool where I can hold a friendly hand for a few steps before running alone.

Thanks,

Doug

A bit more information would be helpful. What technology are you using to create this application? Is it a purely front-end application? In general, the way that a cookie works is that the cookie is sent to the client from the server and it is stored in the browser. You can create a cookie using document.cookie = someJavaScriptObject. If you set the expires property of this object to a date far in the future, the cookie should stick around in the browser until that date, unless the cache is cleared. This wouldn’t be a recommended method for persistence however since you are storing the information on the client machine and then have to ask the server to decipher it anyway. A better method would be to link the server to a database, or write the object out in a *.csv or *.json file.

More information on cookies can be found here. I hope this helps!