Creating a Website

Hi all,

Hope you don’t find this a silly question, But like i have said before in my last posts I am new to coding and creating Websites.
So i am watching a YouTube video on how to create websites and what this guy used for the design of his web page was Photoshop. Then from there he would use that to write the HTML and so on. Do you need photo shop to create your web page? What else can you use or just plain HTML?
What i am watching is called: How to build a Responsive Website form start to finish. Should i just carry on with FCC (which I am) and will it fall into place and the puzzles start fitting together and i will get a clear picture?

Thanks all

Hi,

You use HTML to create all the parts (header,div, img etc) and CSS to style those. Bootstrap makes it very easy to build a responsive website.

I haven’t watched the video, but I guess he uses Photoshop for the design. So he designs something in Photoshop and then (tries to) build that with HTML and CSS. It is always useful to have an idea how your site is going to look. Photoshop is absolutely not necessary, a simple sketch will do.

1 Like

Hi there,
If you are really interested in creating the website, Free code camp is the best place to learn.
Here they teach basics of HTML (since you are beginner) and its better for you to learn the remaining HTML/CSS tags from W3schools Reference pages (for both HTML & CSS)
As you go on master these you can continue learning jQuery and other stuffs.
According to me Photoshop is not necessary.
Its better if you go with Bootstrap for responsive websites or you can even choose @media(css) tag.

yep as @BenGitter said, you can do a sketch of your desired layout then build the structure using html. This is where you’d add all your content. You then make it pretty with css.