CS50/Academical Courses Experience

Hey, guys, I started Harvard’s CS50 on edX a few days ago, currently on week two. Has anybody here taken this course? What do you think of it? And, more importantly, what did CS50 gave you (if it gave you anything at all)?

In my opinion it’s just amazing. Dan’s teaching style is incredible, he really can EXPLAIN what’s going on, not just say “do this and that happens” - he explains WHY this is happening. Shorts are quite helpful, tasks in problem sets are challenging. I feel although that I know some of that stuff - I started learning how to code a couple of months ago. And pure C syntax… devil tortures Hitler and Dracula in hell with pure C.

So, share your experience about CS50 (and maybe some other “big” courses, like MIT 6.00.1x which starts on the 30th of August btw) with us please.

5 Likes

I’m currently on week 2 also and enjoying it a lot so far. Happy to get some computer science foundation and agree about pure c syntax :yum:

2 Likes

Out of curiosity - did you use strtok() function in Initials or something else?

I used a for loop with an if statement to look for spaces in the string, and then grabbed the letter after the space to print out.

Thanks, got it. You did the “less comfortable” version, right?

Hi guys, I’m new to FCC and I was looking at that course after I saw it mentioned in the forums. Do you think it’s suitable for a total beginner?

1 Like

Yup! Did the less comfortable version.

1 Like

Yeah! Most people who take CS50 in person have no previous programming experience.

In p1xt’s guide she recommends reading the You Don’t Know JS series first.

2 Likes

I agree with @jeffbernst on CS50 but “You don’t know JS” series can be a bit complex for the beginner.

3 Likes

Thanks for the answer guys! People seem to like that course so I think I’ll definitely look into it.

So no one else here on FCC plans/are doing/has done academical courses like CS50?