Done with Front End, what to do next (+ my story because why not)

tl;dr version at the end

Hi there.

I don’t post much, so I would like to share a little about me before moving to my question. If you don’t feel like reading, just skip to the bottom!

My name is Sacha. I’m a 30 years old Japanese major living in Tokyo. I learned some programming in high school (and loved it) but in 2005 I didn’t see any ways in which programming could help me nail a good job in my country (weird times, looking back) and decided to move to something completely different.

In late 2015 I joined a recruiting company that deals with engineers/programmers and having the chance of talking to those people made me realize I wanted to be on the technical side of the job market. I started studying by myself (Python, some C++ and SQL, then web development mainly on fCC) and exactly 1 year later I was able to find a job thanks to my language + programming skills (that has nothing to do with web development, since I’m mainly using C++).

Today, April 6th 2017 I earned my Front End Development Certificate and now I have several options in front of me (since in its current situation fCC doesn’t offer any tutorials in non-beta form).

I want to start studying Unity3D since it will help me with both my current job and game development (love games), but I still feel like I would like to keep studying web development and see what’s hiding under the hood. What do you recommend to do next? I would like to hear different opinions.

Keep in mind that the hardest part for me so far has been only working with HTML/CSS, creating the algorithms for the advanced projects was much easier (and a lot more fun) than what I usually do at work. It took me 5 days to nail that for the Simon project, less than 2 days for the Javascript. (I learned a lot about responsive design and plan to make it better though)

tl;dr