Entry level dev jobs in London, UK?

Hi guys!

I would appreciate if anyone from London, UK could give me some advice on the following.

I’m a 26 years old female living in London, currently looking for my first job in web development. I’m completely self-taught. I’ve been learning to code since January (most of this time full time). My current list of technologies includes HTML/CSS, JavaScript, React JS, PHP and MySQL. I do have a portfolio (with live demos and code), projects on GitHub, up to date cv, cover letter and what not…

There are tons of jobs being advertised, some of them claiming they are for the entry level/graduate positions. However, once I send my cv/portfolio I get through to a recruiter who only seems to care about one question only: Have you got any commercial experience in this role? As I say “no, but I have…” they don’t even want to hear what else I have to say. Needless to say I never hear anything back.

I did receive quite a few phone calls from recruiters and it always goes according to the same scenario: they are interested, they compliment my portfolio, but as they hear “no working experience” they are gone. Right now my cv/portfolio doesn’t even make it past recruiters stage as they simply wouldn’t send it to any potential employer. How to exit this vicious circle?

I would love to hear from anyone in London who recently went through the same process of finding their first dev job (without a CS degree/Bootcamp and/or relevant work experience).

• Has anyone actually found a job through Indeed/Reed/CV Library/Glassdoor etc?
  • How long did it take you to hear back/secure an interview?
  • If found through recruiters, maybe someone can suggest a particular recruitment agency?

Even better, maybe someone knows a website/resource where companies post job openings directly? (I just couldn’t find anything relevant in London…) So far even LinkedIn seems to be spammed by yet another recruitment agency.

Any advice would be appreciated,