Existential crisis with my career choice

Hello FCCampers,

I’m a college grad in Comp Sci and had a job building a React Native app, but now with the advent of AI and Machine Learning I want to do that, because I truly believe that’s what’s going to drive the next industrial revolution. But I don’t want to quit React when I’m just starting to get good at it. Then I also want to do Native iOS, possibly native Android, AR, VR, etc… I’m just so confused. I don’t know how to choose. Has anyone been through this and figured out a way to narrow their options ?

It seems to boil down to this:

1.) Pick something you enjoy doing
2.) Get extremely good at it
3.) Profit

Doing everything at once doesn’t work simply because you don’t have the time to do everything at once - choose something to be your main path and leave the rest as hobby, this way when you get bored you will be able to change without too much effort.

6 Likes

I agree with Lukas. Get good at React. Get a job. Learn AI and machine learning on the side. If you find you no longer enjoy what you’re doing, you have the skill set to go into machine learning, or if a better opportunity comes up for machine learning, do it. Don’t just do something because it’s where you think the industry is going. Do what you love.

Do them all:

http://www.smbc-comics.com/?id=2722

9 Likes