FCC Coding retreat

Hi everyone, I’d like to float the Idea of a low cost immersive coding retreat for FCCers.

But first I’ll introduce myself. I’m new to FCC and I’m really enjoying the experience. I never thought coding could interest me and I discovered the joy of coding by chance. When I updated my iPad to ios10 I saw this Swift Paygrounds app and because I was bored I decided to have a play and became hooked right away. I’ve always loved puzzles and the coding problems are all like puzzles to me. So I discovered a new passion which has led me to FCC.

I’m Australian and I’ve been traveling around Europe. Now I want to stop and focus my energies into learning code, but as much as I enjoy coding the experience has been solitary which sometimes brings frustration.

I’m in Lviv, Ukraine now, a beautiful and cultured city with activities that is also amazingly cheap. I think I can organize a retreat here from as little as €5 a day including accommodation in a nice hostel.

Anyone can take participate for as little as a week up to three months. Do you think a community in a fresh environment would help motivate, support and inspire you?

What do you think? Would it help you?

2 Likes

Welcome to freeCodeCamp! Good to hear you’re getting some value in it. There’s already probably a “retreat”-like meetings where you’re traveling. Please check out the city study groups around the world: freeCodeCamp City Based Local Groups. Happy coding!

1 Like

Hi Eric, thanks for replying! yes, I’m aware of local groups and their occasional meet ups. I suspect you misunderstand what I mean by ‘immersive coding retreat’. Maybe I should have explained it more clearly.

AS I envision it an immersive coding retreat will be be like a coding bootcamp, but free! :slight_smile: