Feeling overwhelmed as a beginner?

Just started my journey a few weeks ago and am absolutely loving it.
All I can do is think about coding and wish I could do it every day!

I have however been feeling very overwhelmed and worry about even the tiniest detail and I hate that about myself.

Now I’m currently studying Python and am about to start the FCC courses and hopefully master HTML, CSS and Javascript (along with finishing the entire course of course) but just to get to this point, it was so hard for me. There are so many options out there and so many roads to take that I sometimes wonder if I’m taking the right one.

Should I do Front-end or Back-end? Should I start with C or Python? Is this book enough? Khan Academy, Codeacademy, Udemy, FCC or youtube? Do I need a certificate? How many projects do I need to put in my portfolio? What if by the time I finish the courses, the market will be so saturated that I won’t find any work? Freelance, remote or company? etc…

These are the kind of things that literally keep me up at night (a few nights ago I just could not fall asleep until 7am worrying about this stuff)

I know my drive is there as my dream has always been to work from anywhere and not have to go to an office. My hate for the 9-5 rat race (in my case, 9am to sometimes 10pm) is so strong, that I sometimes study 4-5 hours without even noticing just to get ahead faster. I even write specific dates for when I want to quit and leave my current office job and start coding.

But still, that little overwhelming bug still creeps up from time to time…

Did other people feel like this when you first started out or am I just weird?

8 Likes