Feeling Slow / seeking encouragement

Hi guys,
I just turned 34yo, trying to switch out of an old industry (construction). I dont have anyone to give any encouragement, so im blatantly seeing if i can find some here.

Im totally new to coding / programming / IT, so EVERYTHING is brand new. Im not finding it impossible, its just a time commitment which im willing to pay.

Im currently working thru the FCC JS module - im making a lot of silly syntax errors on the code challenges, which i have to debug. I know this process is a good thing as it will help me be a better educated coder in the long run plus avoiding the noob mistakes later will be positive. You see a lot of posts online for folks that “get it” and go zero-hero in months (they then forget to mention they have a degree in maths or something). I have a degree in a construction related discipline, so im not dumb, but this is all new to me, and its not easy. Simple, but it takes a lot of time to do it…

Im finding focus difficult, not meandering all over the place is extremely challenging. Im also referring to several JS books at the same time as i do the FCC JS learning modules. Im not racing to the end of the FCC JS modules, every slide im reviewing what i dont know and adding notes to a google sheets ANKI deck - for revision later. Although i know ANKI wont get me to be a coder, it will help my knowledge base, esp while starting out. Does this sound like a smart way to do things?

5 Likes

Hi !

What was your job into the construction field ? Maybe you have some relative “way of thinking” you could transpose to coding/web-dev ?
Ex : construction → building → lego → order to assemble, step to respect, building with what for which purpose ?

I’m new to this field too and I also >30yo :wink:
I did few html coding few years ago in school (with lot of frames hahaha ! ) and some statistical programming with SAS…didn’t use those skills till last 3 months :slight_smile: