Finding Coding Hard

Hi People.

I am a 33 year old English teacher and I’m in a bit of a dilemma. When I was a young child I always had a great interest in computers and coding but my parents were quite traditional and encouraged me to do a ‘proper’ job. Long story short, I ended up a teacher in a tough school. It can be rewarding but it’s a bloody tough job - (kids are crazy)

I think I started having a Quarter Life Crisis and said to myself at 31, that I wanted to do something that I fulfilled me and started to learn coding on and off in 2015 mainly online.

Now as a newbie, I was excited and on fire and went through the usual Codeacademy, Teamtreehouse and know Freecodecamp. When I did the code challenges, I felt like a genius… but when I wanted to create my own projects I was… stuck. Although I’ve covered HTML and CSS, I still feel my stuff is basic and I am finding JavaScript difficult.

Now I have a baby on the way (due in September) and I can start progressing in my teaching role. My dilemma is do I continue to go forward with this? I hear many stories where people say they “learnt to code in 3 months” and landed a junior Front End Dev job and although and fairly well educated, I feel like my wheels are spinning a bit.

Is coding a young man/woman’s game? Realistically how long did it take for you guys to hone your craft? Sorry if it sounds like a moan but are there any tips you can give me? Or should I throw in the towel? Life is too short & I feel like maybe I missed my window…

Thank you in advance and I look forward to hearing from you.

8 Likes

Don’t throw in the towel. I’m 32, been working for the same company for 10 years. Going back to school full time is out of the question, so I’m learning coding in my spare time as well.
The people who “coded for 3 months and got a dev job” are usually outliers. Learning and mastering this stuff takes time. Do an hour a day if you can. It’s normal to feel a bit frustrated though. Hang in there!

6 Likes