From self taught newbie - to intern - to actual developer!

Hello my fellow campers! It’s a long one!

I’m 28. Yesterday I signed the papers. June 20th will be my last day as a paid intern. June 21st will be my first day as an actual Front End Developer -insert party music here- :champagne::tada::sparkles::nerd_face:
When I first landed the internship, I did make a post about how I got to that point, however I took it down as I wanted to write something that had a little more depth after a few months of real world experience. Yes it is a long post, but I’m trying to include everything I wish I knew before I started this whole journey, even the tiny bits you pick up along the way.

How this post will read:

1. FCC Road map
  2. Applying for Jobs
  3. Useful bits n’ pieces
  4. Links

TLDR: I taught myself to code and landed an internship when they weren’t looking for an intern - Links I found useful are grouped at the bottom.

So straight off the bat, doing ONLY freecodecamps map won’t land you a job (or it might who knows). I did other courses/challenges on the side, some paid some not (the only ones I paid for were Udemy) In my honest opinion, learning the command line and Git is suuuuuuper important, this should be mixed in when learning all the basics! I use it all day everyday and I’m so glad I had taught myself how to use it early on in my journey. Build your github, make daily commits, you wanna look busy!

1. Freecodecamp’s road map