From Zero To Hero - Coding Progress Journal From Day 1

Technically today is day 2. Regardless, I’ve decided to make a progress journal and share it here in the forum. I’m hoping it will aid me in staying accountable and consistent. Though, with all this free time, it’s not so difficult to find time for coding practice.

A bit about me, I’ve dabbled in coding using FCC before, and have dabbled with Python via a Udemy course. Besides that, I had limited HTML knowledge from customizing layouts back in the Xanga/Myspace days. I’m also a musician and have been involved with that for about a decade. I’m a jack of all trades when it comes to digital art, but most skilled in music.

I’m wanting to pursue coding for the purpose of informing and enhancing my pre existing skills. Some ideas relate to using coding in the process of art creation, or eventually coding, designing, and scoring a game myself. Lofty ambitions for sure, but I’m giving myself permission to dream. I would also like to be able to generate livable income using the skill, and leave the food service industry behind.

Thanks anyone who took the time to read this and keep checking back for my progress.

Day 1 (4/6/20) - Began HTML and HTML 5
Day 2 (4/7/20) - Completed entire HTML and HTML 5 and began Basic CSS

• Notes: At this point I’ve realized that a more comprehensive understanding is going to be helpful in actually having a command of the skills that I can use to get a career. Not to say that I couldn’t cobble together ideas and tutorials to get a job done, but I want a true understanding or as close as possible. To that end, I’ve decided to spend the rest of this day and the next going BACK through the first two lessons and taking physical hand-written notes. I find that it makes it much easier for me to follow along with complex topics that are thick with new language, and numbers, and orientations, etc.
10 Likes

Great idea, good luck!