Full Stack Cert Completed! I did it and you can too

Full Stack Cert Completed!

A little background: I graduated with a Computer Science degree in 2009. Coursework focused mainly on Java. There was 1 internet programming class, HTML, a little CSS, and very little JS. I knew generally what these things were but really I knew nothing about web dev.

Since graduating I’ve spent 10 years working on the hardware side of things. Sys Admin, networking, VMware etc. with a bit of SQL thrown in. I’m now 43 and looking to switch careers.

Starting Sept 2019 and finishing April 2020, Freecodecamp was a massive time commitment. I did it while employed full-time and balancing a family. As I completed my first couple projects, I thought they were embarrassingly bad. I wondered if web dev/design was really my thing?

Tribute Page

Product Page

Looking back on all the projects I can see a clear advancement of things getting better. Things started to fall into place. Once I started on the 3rd section: Front End Libraries, I did a lot of research and decided I was going all in on React. Finishing the IS & QA projects, I’ve come a long way from those first bad websites. I even built React front ends for them (which wasn’t required).

Issue Tracker

Stock Price Checker

and the final project:
Anon Message Board

If you are going through the course now, getting through it likely comes down to just this: investing the time. Not everything you need to know is included in the lessons/projects. READ, READ, and READ more. Frustration and feeling over worked may come with it, push through it and keep going, and the end will come into sight. YOU CAN DO IT!

9 Likes

I am on my way to the first cert. And it is inspiring to know this and boost up to read more. Congrats!