Getting a job as a self-taught dev

Hi Campers!

Really happy to share some great news with the community, now there is one more employed self-taught dev! It was quite a surreal experience to get a job offer after just 5 months of study and almost no project experience, but I’m super excited about what’s going to happen next.
If anyone’s interested, I kept a diary of things I studied and how long it took me, and if you’re interested, just pm me and I can send you the diary. It’s not very neatly organised, but keeps it very detailed.

Just wanted to say massive thank you to the community, creators, contributors and @QuincyLarson and for your participation and helpful advice. It was amazing to gain a lot of inspiration from all the self-starters on the forum.

I’ve always been thinking about ways to give back to the community for what I got, and one idea came to my mind. There are a lot of guides on how to get a job, but very few posts about what happens when you get it. Mostly memories of experienced developers and we usually tend to smooth things over after a period of time. And since my job starts on 2nd October, I thought that possible it could be created daily. A single path, how it’s experienced. Challenges and tasks and the rest.
Tweeting daily and if needed will be posting longer material on Medium.

Connect with me on Twitter or Medium for longer posts: @michael_mynah.

Thank you all so much again, and wish you all the luck in all of your pursuits!

UPD:
Here’s my medium post about how I studied, the diary link can be found there.

Cheers!

28 Likes

congrats. the journey has just begun

1 Like

Do you have a portfolio site we can check out? I like to measure how close I am to being employable by seeing the sites of people who recently got hired.

2 Likes

5 months?! Quite impressive indeed! I second what @Nicknyr said, mind sharing what you used to apply?

2 Likes